EHSC LogoEnvironmental Health Strategy Center
  10th Anniversary logo

picture of champagne glasses

10th Anniversary Celebration

Enjoy hors d'oeuvres, live music, and a champagne toast to 10 years of preventing harm while we honor environmental health leaders
Thursday December 6th 
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
One Longfellow Square
181 State Street, Portland



Picture of Bev PaigenDr. Beverly Paigen will be the honored with the Frank Hatch Environmental Health Leadership Award for a lifetime of community service harnessing science to protect health.  Dr. Paigen researches the origins of disease at Jackson Laboratory and puts her expertise into practice for the public good.  She helped slash dioxin discharges from Maine's pulp and paper mills in the 1990s, and in the last decade she has helped EHSC establish a reputation for effective science-based advocacy as a founding Advisory Board member.  We are privileged to have Lois Gibbs present the award to Dr. Beverly Paigen - as Lois and Beverly where leaders in the successful campaign to clean up the toxic waste in the Love Canal neighborhood.

Picture of moms and activists talking with Senator SnoweThe Grassroots Leadership Award will go to the two-dozen Maine moms and activists, organized by the Alliance for a Clean and Healthy Maine, who rode the bus to the National Stroller Brigade in Washington DC in May to support the Safe Chemicals Act.  The honorees are: Helen Anderson, Veronica Boucher, Lalla Carothers, Valerie Carter, Sally Chappell, Melanie Collins, Melissa Fiori, Tracy Gregoire, Dana Hernandez, Jenna Horner, Emily Horton, Ginger Jordan-Hillier, Bettie Kettell, Kathy Kilrain del Rio, Catherine Langelier, Robin Levesque, Bridgett McCoy, Diane Messer, Megan Rice, Sam Sewall, and Jaynelle Smith.


Robert & Stephanie Harris ~ Honorable Chellie Pingree & Donald Sussman
Mike Herz & Kate Josephs ~ Ken & Bev Paigen ~ Dan &  Joan Amory
Jeannie & Kevin Mattson ~ Mac & Rosemary Sexton

Change Agent
Richard & Miriam Meisler ~ Robert O’Connor & Monica Halas
Margo Simmons ~ Ryan Bouldin ~ Bill & Mary Phillips ~ Lisa Gorman
Ann Fowler Wallace ~ Warren & Brammie Cook ~ Sharon Rosen & John Newton       
  Honorable Hannah Pingree & Jason Mann ~ Brigitte & Hal Kingsbury 

Kim Simmons & Craig Bramley ~ Al & Carol Curran ~ Ken Geiser ~ Anita Nager
Gail Carlson & Philip Nyhus ~ Kate & Greg Lewis ~ Ken Spirer & Joan Leitzer ~ Mimi Dunn
Sandra & Bruce Cort ~ Rebecca Altman ~ Dora Anne Mills ~ Deborah Deatrick ~ Richard Drury
Honorable Justin & Rachael Alfond ~ Stan Eller ~ Lalla Carothers &  Jonathan Labaree 
Linda Silka & Laurence Smith ~ Carolyn Fine Friedman

 Bettie Kettell ~ Lani Graham ~ Marcia Goldfarb ~ Honorable Emily Cain ~ Chris Quint
Emily Figdor & Steven Biel ~ Cathryn Falwell & Peter Mirkin ~ Honorable Ted Koffman ~ Ted Smith
 Honorable Libby Mitchell ~ Jessa & Justin Barnard ~ Carol Kelly & Karen Geraghty ~ Timothy Shannon
Honorable Linda Sanborn ~ Dick Mark ~ Peter Ranslow ~ Honorable Mike Carey ~ Dick & Joan Andren
Mark Rossi & Sabrina Kurtz-Rossi ~ Barbara DiBiase ~ Jesse Connolly & Nicole Clegg ~ Honorable Phil Bartlett  
Daniel Oppenheim & Layne Gregory ~ Betsy Saltonstall ~ Honorable Dick Woodbury ~ Luella Kenny
Lucy Quimby & Honorable Geoff Gratwick ~ Honorable Bob Duchesne ~ Evelyn deFrees ~ Pat Ianni & Mark Sunderman  Lissa Widoff ~ Cheryl Daigle ~ Honorable Scott Cowger ~ Laura Vandenberg ~ Sharon & Paul Tisher
 Honorable Joan Welsh ~ Jerry & Joyce Longcore ~ Honorable Sharon Treat ~ Alan Ramo ~ Norma Dreyfus
Honorable Lisa Miller ~ David Littell ~
Henry Cole ~ Honorable Seth Goodall ~ Susan Gilpin ~ Ruth Hennig
Beth Kubik & Tucker Hanson ~ Megan & Andy Rice ~ Anne & Hook Wheeler ~ Honorable Mary Nelson
Honorable Dana Dow ~ Daniel Hildreth ~ Carol Hubbard ~ Diane Ives




Maine Medical Association LogoLee Auto Malls logo

Angela AdamsDala ConsultingHealey and AssociatesSwitzer Foundation

MECEPSouthern Maine Labor CouncilMPRCOrganic Valley

Us & CompanyMaineShareHowe, Cahill & CompanyBrightwater Bay Science


Toxic Action CenterCEIMaine Women's Policy CenterMaine Labor Group on HealthMERI


Live music by the Bloomers - Americana inspired music

Photography by Claire Houston

Food provided by Local Sprouts Cooperative - creative local and organic food

Click here to purchase event tickets, raffle tickets, become a host or a sponsor

Can't attend the event but want to give a gift to support EHSC's 10 years of preventing harm click here.



Angela Adams Stream Rug

Picture of Angela Adams Stream Rug

Click here to buy raffle tickets

3' x 8' rug valued at $1800. The winner will be announced at the event, but you do not need to be present to win.



At the event we will be featuring

Kate Chappell's Rachel Carson Silent Spring inspired art

Picture of Kate Chappell's Art

It is the 50th anniversary year of the book Silent Spring, which helped kick off the environmental health movement


©2012 Environmental Health Strategy Center
565 Congress St., Ste. 204, Portland, ME 04101
P.O.Box 2217, Bangor ME 04402 . 207-699-5795